Song of the Week – 04 (Butterfly Lovers Concerto I)

Each week, I’ll bring you a new song to listen to. You may like it, or you may not. Either way, I’d love to for you to post your comments.

This week it’s Part I from the Butterfly Lovers Violin Concerto. I recommend a good pair of headphones for this one.

When the violin soloist first comes on, I can’t help but imagine China’s countryside and villages.

It’s a very interesting peice: a fusion of Chinese folk melodies and Western arrangement; and is an orchestration of an ancient legend. You can find out about it here. I also highly recommend Part II (and subsequent parts).

One Response to Song of the Week – 04 (Butterfly Lovers Concerto I)

  1. Elleah says:

    Beautiful! I love that! As a classically trained pianist and clarinetist I have a deep appreciation for this kind of music! It has always been my dream to play in an orchestra and I wish I knew how to play the violin!

Leave a Reply

